Doing what you love is freedom, liking what you do is happiness.

Some people are good at sports, or math, or going to college.

Some people are experts in law or baking.

I don’t have a particular expertise, except babysitting. I happen to be semi-ok at watching kids. Which is an odd talent. Mainly because I’m not sure if it’s a talent as much as practiced patience…

But I was thinking about the things I would like to be good at one day, and I think caring for people, kids especially, is one of those things. Writing would be another one. This one might take another 20 years, especially since at 21 I still can’t get correct grammar down 🙂 I’m ok with it. Life is a learning curve.
Anyways, here’s the reason I think maybe those desires are in my heart.

1) I want to be a good mom one day. I think mothers come in all sorts of people in life. While I’m in love with my birth mother and I think she is a treasure, she isn’t the only one to love me with momma love. I always admired and cherished those people in my life that cared for me with the same tenderness and honesty they would care for their own obnoxious children. I have a desire to be a good mom and maybe wife one day. Maybe, if that’s along this foggy road I’m walking. I’ve also made my peace with that fact that it may not be, that’s cool too. I may just get to love and mother those I least expected to in life. But I also think the lord puts desires and gifts in us, so for now I will trust that while that desire is there, he will work through it.

2) I owe the great writers in the world a piece of me. I am indebted to the literary marvels that had the courage to be honest with themselves and then put it in a book for me to pick up and feel released by. I also need to send love and thankfulness, in a jar, to those creative cookies who made up worlds of magic and wonder for me to dive into when I needed it the most. That’s why I want to be a writer. My greatest hero’s are writers. Including the one who holds the pen to the paper in my life. I want to be like him, in a small way. But I want his love to flow through it all.

These are the things I want to be expert at…there may be more. Im sure as the pages of my life turn, things will change. But this is me for today.

Find what your good at, and what you love, and do it. Embrace it whole heartedly, no matter how small you may think it is.

“But our bodies have many parts, and god has put each part just where he wants it…in fact, some parts of the body that seem weakest and least important are actually the most necessary.” 1Corinthians 14:18, 22

Leave a Reply

